How I Started to Be a Productive, Morning Person

I never thought that being a morning person would be this fun and thrilling at the same time. Back in high school and college, I’ve always had difficulty waking up in the morning and getting productive from sunrise. My brain works better at night when I study. Now that I’m working, I have to be more adaptive to waking up early because changing schedules isn’t appropriate anymore unlike in school.

When I finally decided to let go of the feasibility of Triathlon this year, something else came. I tried dragon boat for the first time. I’m naturally an outdoor and active person to begin with so the sport wasn’t that surprising for me. During weekday and weekend trainings, we have to be at the dock site at 4 AM so we could start our stretching ceremonies going and our coach really wanted  to push ourselves to be better every time.

As time went by, I realized that dragon boat wasn’t as easy as it is. You are a team because you really have to work as a team. The moment that one person on the boat stops, everybody else will be affected. Every training, bruises and callouses appear from hands to feet. One more thing you have to endure if you’re going to try this sport is none other than – Manila Bay.

The water has long been known by many people dirty and non-swimmable. Guess what? It wasn’t that bad after all (or maybe we began to tolerate the smell already).  Some teams jump off the boat after training so their bodies could cool off after the hard training they just had.

Thing is, it didn’t become just a hobby for me. I began loving the sport. I began loving the discipline it instills in me, beginning with waking up early and making the day more fruitful. I get to almost finish everything before lunch and it actually feels fulfilling. Perhaps there is a scientific explanation on this since your adrenaline is setting off as early as 4 AM exciting your mind and body even more throughout.

in action

Every sport has a technique and discipline to gain. Dragon boat may not be that popular here in the Philippines and has less audience compared with the mainstream sports, basketball and volleyball, which I also love doing. But it’s really worth trying. Plus, there’s no age requirement! Paddling can be done as young as 10 years old to 70 years old!

Finally, I get to try something that was once out of my league. I might say that one of the perks is that you get to travel to different places. Last April, I went to Boracay for the first time, not just for vacation, but to join the International Dragonboat Race. Yey for me!

See? An active lifestyle can actually give you a lot of opportunities. Only that you have to save up for the out of town races. But it’s good to invest on experiences right? Just be sure not to make the lame millennial excuse of investing on experience and not on paying bills.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Me during the Boracay International Dragonboat Festival 2016

Oh and before I forget, our team’s name is Philippine Tiger Sharks. Given the name, we advocate on saving the endangered species of sharks. Our team’s moniker is to Paddle, Transform, and Serve God and others.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

